With Change Comes Happiness

Image result for With Change Comes Happiness

Another birthday come and gone, and this one was one I will remember.  This past year has had it’s ups and downs, but it has been, by far, the best one I’ve had in ages.  I celebrated my birthday three times this year.  The first was a family afair, which took place on Thanksgiving day (Canadian).  We have five birthdays in October, so to make things easy, we have one big family gathering.

The second celebration took place last Friday night (the day before my BDAY).  I went out with four of my coworkers for dinner and drinks.  I truly love these people, and we had a blast.  After dinner we wondered down the street to a bar that had a live band playing.  If anyone remembers my summer rockstar fling, it was his band playing.  We danced all night, it was fun and non-dramatic.  At the end of the night, I found some street players and asked them if I could play their guitar.  I played and sang a few songs before jumping in a cab to take me home.

The following day, my best guy friend from work stopped by with a birthday gift.  He’s trying his hand at photography, and he’s really good.  I had asked if I could buy a couple pics I really like, but he laughed it off.  I was annoyed at that, but he had good reason.  He had the pictures printed and framed for me, and delivered them over on my birthday.  His thoughtfulness still brings a smile to my face.

Celebration number three: my on again, off again man surprised me by showing up at my place.  He brought with him my favorite bottle of wine, flowers, ingredients to make vegan pizza, and a GC for an hour long massage.  He got there at around 1pm, and we headed down to a local pub were we met mutual friends for a drink.  Our friends picked up the tab as a birthday present, and me and my date headed back to my place.  We drank wine, danced in my front room, cooked pizza, and watched documentaries (my pick).  It was a perfect peaceful day/evening after my previous night out on the town.  As much as this man drives me crazy, he is kind and thoughtful.

This year has been full of change, love, and friendship, and I’m so grateful for it.  For 12 years leading up to 2017, I went through devastating heartache, anxiety, and loneliness.  My 43rd birthday marked a big turn around in my life, and that is why I will remember this year.  I guess it was actually my 42nd year that changed my life, but my 43rd birthday sealed the deal.  My life may not be perfect, but I’m the happiest I’ve been since before my divorce 12 years ago.   I had to force some major changes in my life to get to where I’m at, and I’m so glad I did.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Simon says:

    Well done you ☺️

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Simon says:

        Always ☺️☺️

        Like

Leave a Reply

