Smoke On The Water — AND Everywhere Else

A view of our city at mid-day

The whole province is on fire, and we are living in the land of smoke and ash.  Thousands of people from cities all across British Columbia have been evacuated from their homes due to 100s of out of control wildfires.  High winds blow smoke and ash through the valley, and it’s near impossible to breathe in our city right now.

Currently, my city is not in danger, as there are no fires close enough to be threatening.  The smoke, however, has dramatically effected our air quality.  Residence have been told to stay indoors as much as possible, and many people are walking the streets wearing face masks.  Local businesses have set up temporary shelters or have offered meals for neighbouring town evacuees.   It’s a scary time for our province, and it doesn’t look like things will get better anytime soon.

The interior of BC gets hot and dry during the summer, and this year’s fires are mostly due to lightening strikes.  Between river floods and wildfires, this has been a bad year for us.  Mother nature’s been one pissed off lady, and I hope she gets it out of her system real soon.  I’m sad for all the people who have lost their homes and businesses…. It’s a reminder of how fast life can change.  It’s scary to know that our lives can be altered by the change of the wind.

On a more personal note, I’ve been struggling to find my footing again in life.  My anxiety disorder makes it difficult for me to adjust to changes in my routine.  This year, I have pushed myself back into the dating world, and so far it has done nothing but send me spinning.  My emotions have been all over the map, and I’m having to relearn how to manage my days.  I’ve written very little in the past few months; I just can’t seem to find my rhythm.  Basically, I’m completely out of sorts.

For now, all I can do is manage one minute, hour, day at a time.

For all those evacuated from your homes, I’m sending out a little prayer (to whom ever maybe listening).

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Buffy Devane says:

    Even though you’re aware that certain others are having it worse, I’m very sorry that you’re unsettled and living in a rather scary and uncertain time. I can’t imagine the immensity of wildfires, though for what it’s worth, I know that I do curse Mother Nature rather a lot, rightly or wrongly… (!)
    “One minute, hour, day at a time”… that’s simply how we have to deal with life sometimes, isn’t it — and I think, all things considered, you’re doing well.
    Proud of you. 🙂 I’ve missed your posts! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      Thank you. I miss writing but every time I try I end up staring at a blank screen for hours. Super annoying. I’m glad to see you’ve written a couple

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Buffy Devane says:

        Ah yes, I know that feeling… the unfulfilled creative passion. Just rotten. 😦
        Oh gosh, it’s probably been harder to write my last two than the previous 20 put together! Worth it in the end, though. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ms. SG41 says:

        They were two of my favs. I will message you tomorrow

        Liked by 1 person

  2. nkdwhtguy says:

    My thoughts are with you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

