False Hopes and Face Cream

It’s amazing the amount of money women spend on beauty products to make themselves feel pretty.  For me, it’s all about my hair.  I have very fine, curly hair, and it’s been greying for years.  I spend approximately $800 per year on colour and cut, and who knows how much on products to keep it looking it’s best.  For the amount of money I spend, you would think I’d have luxurious hair.  I don’t.  I spend the money to make it look it’s best, which isn’t that great.

I just finished having a conversation with a co-worker about facials and body wraps.  She is in her late 20s, and she has a four year old son.  In an effort to get the body she had before becoming a mother, this girl spends a few hundred dollars a week on treatments.  It completely floored me when she told me this.  First of all, who has that kind of money?  Second, do these treatements really make that much of a difference?  I can’t image they do.

Besides my hair, I don’t really spend money on beauty products.  I have the basics for make up, but I don’t wear a lot of it.  I have somewhat stylish clothes, but I buy most of them at Winners.  For me, my money is better spent on a good bottle of wine.  I work out hard, and I look ok for my age, but I will be damned if I’m going to spend my hard earned money on false hope and face cream.  Besides, once I’ve had a couple of glasses of wine, I think I look pretty darn good.  I look even better when everyone else has had a couple of bevis….

Speaking of which, It’s a long weekend here in Canada.  Canada turns 150 years old tomorrow, and us canucks will be partying like it’s 1999.  Beer and hockey all the way — yep, it’s true world.  That’s all we do here in the great north.  Ok, I’m lying.  We’ll drink pretty much anything, and I can’t remember the last time a Canadian hockey team won the Stanley Cup.  Tomorrow, our city puts on a big celebration at a park down by the river.  We have musicians play at the bandshell, beer gardens, multicultural food tents, locals artist tables, and tons of fun for the kids.  I’m pretty excited to get out and celebrate our countries BDAY.  Any reason to have a few wobbly pops is a good reason.

On that note — happy Friday friends.  I hope you all have a great weekend, and I will be catching your blogs again next week.

Image result for hockey and beer generalizations of canada

 

Leave a Reply

