First Night of A Broken Heart

Five weeks.  That is how long it took me to fall for what I thought was the man of my dream.  One text message was all it took to break my heart.  

Friday he was in my bed — today he says he needs some time to put the last few weeks into perspective.   Monday he asked me to be his girlfriend, and he told me he was falling hard for me.  Today he needs a minute to catch his breath.  He wants to call me a in couple days.  

Maybe my anxiety changed his mind so quickly, or maybe he likes to be in control.  Whatever the case, he’s hurt me and the relationship. I’m not a toy.  You can’t put me aside for a couple days to decide if you want to keep playing with me.  You told me you knew what you wanted and that you were emotionally available for me.  You lied.  

Tears have fallen, and I’ve spent the day reliving all our conversations to try and figure out what I did wrong.  I’m exhausted and broken. I should not have let my guard down. I should not have let you in.  I need to sleep now. 

4 thoughts on “First Night of A Broken Heart

  1. I’m so sorry this happened to you. It may be that he’s just temporarily confused and dazed (happened to me a few times). He may come to his senses when he realizes he misses you. And I think he will.
    You deserve to be happy.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. He might. But I’m not sure I will be ok with it. I don’t think I can be with someone who thinks it’s ok to leave someone wondering for two days. He could talk to me about what he’s feeling and if he needed to slow down that’s fine. But it’s not ok to mess with my mind.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Catching up.. this sucks. And this wasn’t you. No way you can blame yourself for it. You have to be you for someone to love you like that. Pretending to be someone else will be exhausting, and temporary. Hang in there, sweetie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

