I Can Feel The Rain

Image result for Fog and rain

The view from my office window this morning is hidden behind a thick layer of grey fog.  A slow rain taps on the glass, and the little tear drops glide down the window pane before landing on the walk way below.   For most, it’s a miserable day as far as weather goes, but not for me.   Tuck safely away in my warm and dry office, I feel protected and safe.  Solid office walls wrap around me like armour.  The world outside is an army held at bay by the storm.

It is amazing to me how weather has the ability to alter my moods.  It makes me realize just how susceptible I am to the things I cannot control.  My environment impacts my moods, and often I don’t even know it has happened.   The touch of sunlight on my skin can ease my anxiety, and make me feel light hearted and joyful.  The sparkle of freshly fallen snow awakens delight.  The sounds of rain against my window relaxes me, and a howling wind can stir up the wild child inside.

Like a sponge, I absorb the world around me.  I am easily affected by the news, weather, other people, money — yada yada.  This is both my blessing and my plague.  I see the world in vivid colour, but I see too much which brings worry and sadness.  If only I could filter.  Filter both the inputs and outputs of my mind.  What a random and strange thought — and this because of the rain.

 

 

 

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Buffy Devane says:

    Yep, this is the same for me… overly sensitive to stimuli… it’s both fabulous & frightful.
    Good sponge analogy (!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      We are just too smart I guess 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Buffy Devane says:

        I’ll go along with that. 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. SeekingGod2 says:

    I’ve been in non-stop cloudy and rainy weather since Monday. I’m sick of it, and depressed af.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      Ah that sucks. I hope the sun comes out soon for you. It gets me down too if the rain lasts too long. We don’t get a lot of rain where I live.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

