Watch Your Word – From a NON-POET

Don’t tell me what to do;

You think you know better than I?

You haven’t walked a mile in my shoes;

Yet you judge from your ledge up high.

Don’t project all your insecurities;

It’s not my eyes in the mirror. 

The reflection in front of you isn’t of me;

You don’t know who I am it is clear.

Disapproval is all you’ve ever shared;

An unkindness disguised as true love.

I remove myself from your hateful  glare;

Now it’s me who stands from up above.

You’ve  passed through like a storm at night;

Look around the  damage remains.

Hurt and wounded; I cannot take to flight;

But one day I’ll rise from the flames.
  

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Buffy Devane says:

    Passionate & very well-said.
    Great poetry from a self-described non-poet (!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      You’re always making me blush sir.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Buffy Devane says:

        Haha, I simply say what I believe to be true. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

