When You Realize You Are Not Invincible

I’ve been called a machine more than a few times in my life.  My exercise routine is intense to say the least, and I like it that way.  It helps my moods, and it gives me the permission to not feel too guilty about my little wine habit.  On average, I put in about 10 hours of exericise in a week.  I typically take one day of rest, but not always.  Working out keeps me as sane as I possible am able to be.

Now every once in a very blue moon the universe decides it’s time for me to take a break.  It literally stops me in my tracks.  Like last night.  It was an ordinary Thursday evening.  I finished work, and went to the gym an hour before I had to teach a class.  I usually like to get my own work out in before I teach.   I hit the spin bike for 45 minutes, and I was feeling pretty good.  I entered the studio 10 minutes before class, and instructed the class to set up their equipment.  I started the music and began the warm up — everything was going as planned.  Once the warm up was complete, we began the workout on the step, and that’s when it happened.

POP.  OMG my fucking calve muscle.  I almost fell to the ground, but being the professional I am, I staggered a bit and remained upright.  I tested the leg to see if I could put any weight on it — NOPE.  Shit.  I looked at the class not knowing what to day.  I did the only thing I knew how to do: I informed them I just injured my leg and that I would be teaching the class on one leg.  I battled my way through the class.  I was in an enormous amount of pain.  When the class finally ended, I hobbled my way to my car and somehow managed to drive myself home.

Once home, I cried like a little baby for a good 30 minutes.  Eventually, I could think clearly enough to find some pain killers in my bathroom, and I washed them down with a couple of ciders.  I then rubbed some A535 on my leg, wrapped it, iced it, and elavated it.  Once the pain killers kicked in, I sank into the couch and passed out.

Today, I cannot walk on my leg.  I’ve haven’t left my desk for more than a potty break today.  Why did this happen?  I will likely unable to exercise for a mininum of 2 weeks depending on how badly I damaged the calve.  To me that is a death sentence.  You might as well tell me I can’t eat or drink for two weeks.  At least I can drink.  That is exactly what I will be doing at the end of this day.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Buffy Devane says:

    That’s incredibly rough. I can feel your disappointment.
    At times like this, there should be another button to press apart from “like”…

    Like

  2. What the shit? Has the universe just been out to get us all this week? I am sorry, love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      It’s been a complete shit week 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Pretty much right!? Glad it’s over!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. summerSHINES says:

    Ugh…this sounds horrible 😦 How is your leg now?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      I’m still on crutches….:( super hard on me because I’m so active. I did a work out the other night with just my upper body and abs… was not satisfying at all.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. summerSHINES says:

        Oh fuck 😦 I didn’t know it was that bad. Omg.. I’m so sorry hun. I can’t believe you even attempted a workout! I know exercise is addictive and not doing it is really tough 😦 Massive hugs xx

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Ms. SG41 says:

        Thx. Yes it sucks bad. I need it to hurry up and heal.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. bealryann says:

    I totally understand. My situation is a little different, after being an national level athlete my entire life since I was in high school, I took an “extended” break and I always assume I’m just as fit as I was years ago whenever I get back into the gym and reality hits me quite fast.. certainly not invincible unfortunately.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      Wow I imagine that’s tough for you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

