When Life Gives You Lemons, Bang on a Tub

“I get knocked down, but I get up again.  You are never gonna keep me down.” – Chumbawamba

Anxiety, you naughty little bugger: snuck right up on me when I wasn’t looking.  You waited until I was distracted, and then BAM; you face punched me.  Knocked me out cold, or so you thought.

I admit it: my anxiety did creep in and for good reason.  Buying a condo and getting a new mortgage was scary for me.  So when my car decided to act up on the day of my move, I panicked.  First my body went numb and then I felt that familiar queasiness in my stomach… my brain was racing in circles and my heart began to pound.  I could hear the blood running though my veins, as everything around me turned into a blur.  It was one of the worst panick attacks I’ve had in years.  So bad that I still felt the after effects the next day.

Yesterday after work my car started making the same noise as it did on Saturday.  I could feel another panic attack coming on, but I was able breathe my way through it.  I did my best to keep calm and remind myself that I was capable of dealing with whatever came my way.  I’ve lived on this earth for 42 years, and I’ve managed to survive, it’s unlikely that will change.  After 2, 3 or maybe 3.5 glasses of wine, I was able to sit back and enjoy my new place a bit.

I had a plan for this morning.  I was in no mood to hear my car’s bitching, so I cranked the radio on my drive in to work.  I was greeted with the ever so wise words of CHUMBAWAMBA.  Yes, you heard it here….I was Tubthumping all the way up the hill.  Judge if you must — I don’t care.  From the top of my lungs, and slightly off key I sang “I get knocked down, but I get up again… you’re never gonna keep me down.”   And then………I burst into crazed laughter.

When life gives you lemons, bang on a tub.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Lively Life says:

    Made me smile as i pictured myself doing the same thing!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      Hahaha — Car singing is the best

      Liked by 1 person

  2. nkdwhtguy says:

    Anyone in your situation would be knocked down. I know I would be.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      It’s hard for me to tell if my anxiety is normal or there because of my disorder…. glad to know it sounds like it’s normal this time.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Buffy Devane says:

    Well I’m happy to judge you… it’s a big thumbs up from this judge. 😉
    Inspiring stuff. Well done [!]

    [Good Lord, did that song really come out 20 years ago? Makes me feel a little old…]

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      Tell me about it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

