Loss

I saw you just yesterday; we laughed and joked.  You were nervous about the operation, but I assured you it would be ok.  I lied.

Words cannot describe what I felt when I heard the news.  Shock, denial, disbelief… pain.  I see your face when I close my eyes; how can you be gone?

I walked past your office several times today, but I couldn’t look inside.  The lights were off — I could feel the void.  Tears flowed the hallways today.  This may be just a job, but you were our family.

I cry for you, I cry for me, I cry for your family.  You were loved, and you will be missed.  I can’t say goodbye today; I’m not ready.

I’m so sorry for everything I never said. I hope you know I cared.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Loss

Leave a Reply

