Holidays in a Box

Every year my Christmas tree goes up on December 1.  I may be a single girl, but I still have my own holiday traditions.  I love the holidays; the sparkly lights, spiced scented candles, christmas tree, and stockings.  I love it all.  Now that my house is sold and I need to find a place to live in 3 weeks, It seemed as though there would be no Christmas for me this year.

Last years tree 😦

Now that I’m over the shock of the situation; however, I’ve decided to improvise.  I will be moved at least a few days before Christmas, so my tree will eventually get decorated — even if it’s only for a few days.  For me, the holidays are all the weeks leading up to Christmas.  So what do I do for the 3 weeks leading up to Christmas?  I will be living out of boxes, dealing with mortgage brokers, and hopefully make a deal on a house.  I don’t want to miss out on all the festivities, so here is my plan.

I haImage result for small white christmas treeve a small little fake white christmas tree that I normally put up in my bedroom.  Yes, it’s true, I put up two trees at Christmas and I live alone.  Don’t judge me.  Anyway, I’m going to pull out the tree and plug it in.  Besides the lights, it won’t be decorated, but I will have a tree.  I will shop for gifts as per usual.  They will get wrapped and placed by my small white tree.  When it comes time to move, I will put them all in one big box labelled – GIFTS. I’ve cleared all my previous obligations for next weekend, so I can spend the whole weekend packing.  I plan to get the bulk of the packing done, so I can still have available evenings to meet up with friends and family for the usual holiday drink and snacks.

 

Image result for holiday drinks with friends

 

In my house, my dog and I exchange gifts.  I’ve told my dog that this year, I’d like all my gifts to be for the new house.  If I haven’t found a place before Christmas then I’ve asked her to only get me a couple of small things and to save her allowance fot the big move.  I’m really hoping I can find a place to buy and that the sale can be put through before Christmas, but if not, my best friend has kept her basement suite open for me to live in temporarily.  Honestly, the generosity and support I am getting from all my friends and family is the best Christmas gift of all.

My Dog Olivia opening up last years stocking

This year will be different, but I will still have Christmas.  This year I will be having my holidays in a box.  That reminds me of a little SNL Christmas Jingle:

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. SpaghettiSam says:

    I think it’s great that you have so many wonderful holiday traditions. Just because you’re single doesn’t mean you can’t celebrate!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      I agree. After my divorce I had a few sad Christmas’, so I decided to make my own new Christmas traditions and I love it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

