Mindfully Aware

An eerie gothic fog rolled into town this morning.   The thick gray air felt damp and cold, as my friend and I navigated our way down the city’s empty streets.  You could see our breath with each exhalation… our pace fast and steady.   All was quiet except for the sound of feet hitting pavement.  It seems we were the only two people awake, and we had the city all to ourselves.  We were free.

Image result for Foggy city streets of kamloops

The chill in the air sunk into my bones, and when I arrived home all I wanted to do was soak in a steaming hot tub.  Nevermind that I had only 30 minutes to get ready for work, I needed to heat my body and ease my aching muscles.   As the water began to fill the tub, I peeled off my running gear and tossed them in the laundry basket.  The house was chilly.  Goosebumps formed on my naked flesh, so I wrapped my arms across my chest in an attempt to shield myself.  Next, I stepped into the tub and slowly lowered myself into the scorching hot water.  A sigh of pleasure escaped me; one by one, my tense muscles relaxed.  For 10 minutes I tuned out; not a thing in the world existed or mattered.

It was still dark when I finally left for work.  As soon as I started the car, I turned the heater on high so as not to undo the warmth I still felt from my bath. “I Started a Joke” by the Bee Gees played quietly from the car’s radio : I began to hum. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dq6YmSVAOG8

My drive to work is a steady uphill climb on the major highway that runs through town.  The higher I drove, the thicker the fog got.  I could barely make out 5 feet in front of me, but I didn’t care — I was warm.  Warm and safe.  15 minutes after leaving my house, I was parked in front of the 30,000 sq/ft building I work in.

I sat outside my office with the car running for a few minutes.  My eyes closed, head against the head rest, and hot air tickling the exposed skin between my shoes and pant hem.  I was taking in the morning.  Every last minute of the beauty of being alive.  This morning I was not anxious or depressed.  I did not care what the rest of the day had in store for me.  This morning I was simply mindful — mindfully aware.

Image result for mindfulness

7 Comments Add yours

  1. SeekingGod2 says:

    Your descriptions.. I was thinking there was about to be some… action.. lol

    Hope the week is going along well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      Na. That part of me is dead

      Liked by 1 person

      1. SeekingGod2 says:

        It’s not dead!!! Don’t even say that. Underused.. sure.. dead? Heck no!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Liz C. says:

    I cherish the times when my mind is just fully relaxed and free from any negative thoughts..

    Hope you have more days like that! ❤ Stay strong!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. SG41 says:

      Well said and thanks you. Here’s to peaceful mind rest 🍸

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Liz C. says:

        Thanks for the follow! I hope my blog sends good vibes your way. ❤

        I'm really inspired by people like you, do consider participating in my Featured Daily Warrior page 🙂

        https://dailywarriors.wordpress.com/warrior-of-the-month/

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

