Texting, Texting… 1.2.3.

The world we live in has changed dramatically over my life time, and I’m not sure for the good.  People spend enormous amounts of time on their cell phones, tablets, and computers.  Sadly, many people spend more time with their friends on Facebook than they do in person.  I witnessed a pretty messed up situation last night when I was out for beers with a good guy friend from work.

Image result for beer cheers

My friend and I are fairly close, and we both were having a bit of a rough week.  For him it was work stress; for me it was the lack of control regarding the sale of my house.  We decided it would be nice to blow off some steam with a few beers down at the local brew house.   After running a couple of quick errands, I met up with him and we started chatting about his new love interest.  He has been dating this one for just over 1.5 months, and he claimed she might be the one — he liked her.  He was, however, a little puzzled by some of her behaviours.  Several times he had asked her to hang out, and her basic response was, “I’m going to pass; I’m too tired.”  My thought to this was: “She’s just not that into you.”

When I told my friend what I thought about it, he assured me it wasn’t that.  He was convinced they had a pretty strong connection.  Fair enough; what do I know.  Sometime after ordering our second beer, my friend received a text.   He glanced at it, and then said “I’m getting dumped right now.”  And he was.   WTF!!!! Dumped by text? What is wrong with people?   I’m sorry but that it total B.S.  Get a set of lady balls and do it in person for F sakes.  Sure it’s not fun having to tell someone that you don’t want to see them anymore, but it’s something that needs to be done face to face.

Image result for Text message break up

 

I felt terrible for my friend, so I did the only thing I could do: I drank beer with him and let him talk.  It turned out to be a later night than expected, but to my surprise I actually feel pretty good today.  Aside from being a little tired, I feel good.  No anxiety, no overthinking, and no low mood.  Strange.   My friend on the other hand did not fair as well.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen that shade of green on a person before — YIKES.

I know he will be fine; he’s drop dead gorgeous and women basically throw themselves at him.  However, I’m still pissed at the level of disrespect his “ex”-girlfriend displayed.  Text messaging has a place, but there is no place for it where the heart is concerned.

2 thoughts on “Texting, Texting… 1.2.3.

Leave a Reply

