Chills, Sheriffs, and Wooly Socks

Brown Wooden Bride Beside Green Tree Trunk Under Yellow Blue Sky during Daytime

It’s cold…. Damn cold.  It was -2 celcius when I hit the streets for my morning run today.  Brrrrr.  It’s time to pull out the winter comforter, wooly socks, and knitted scarves.  Pumpkin spice lattes, here I come.  I crave warmth and comfort, and I will take it where I can find it.  Last night, I fell asleep listening to the (obnoxiously loud) gentle hum of my furnace.  I’m used to the roar my 43 year old furnace makes; the sound now symbolizes an imaginary barriere between me and the freezing night’s air.  Fall may have just begun, but it’s quickly turning into winter.  “It’s only just begun… ” Karen Carpenter’s voice just echoed through my mind there.

I know it’s cold, but I can’t help feeling that love is in the air. I’ll rephrase that: the potential for love is in the air.  Let me share with you a little love story about a girl and a boy who have virtually met on Tinder.  Once upon a time, about two weeks ago, I met a guy on Tinder and we started chatting.  It didn’t take long before numbers were exchanged and the chatting moved to a more intimate platform —  iMessage.  Every day, words are exchanged: sweet words, dirty words, funny words, serious words.  Words upon words upon words.  Then one day he asked me if I would like to go out.  I said, “yes”  With busy lives, we made plans to meet next weekend. This weekend, I have my birthday dinner with friends, and he has to leave town to help move his grandmother into hospice.  He seems like a good guy.  He’s a sheriff by trade, and when I asked him if he had the authority to give me a ticket for speeding, he said “no.”  I said, “OK, that should be fine then.”    When I asked him his height he said: “I’m 5’11”

I like a man who can admit this.  Besides, any guy talker than 5’9 is good in my books.  The shorter ones seem to have vagina obsessions (unhealthy obsessions).  I wrote about my vagina grabbing shorty a few posts ago, Date Night or Fright Night.  After that evening of horror, I vowed to never date an under 5’9er again.

Back to the story of my sheriff.  Well there really isn’t much of a story yet, but I’m hoping this is the beginning of one.  We met on Tinder, stalked each other on Facebook, and flirt like mad through iMessage.  Sounds like true love to me 🙂

Who knows, maybe 2017 holds a new house and a new man for me.   Maybe, just maybe, there will be a happily ever after.

3 thoughts on “Chills, Sheriffs, and Wooly Socks

Leave a Reply

