Gobble Gobble – Happy Birthday

“It’s 40 below, and I don’t give a …..” – Gary Lee and The Showdowns

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAp7FvZ5Opw

This post was inspired by one of my favorite blog writers — End and Beginnings

Ok, it’s not quite 40 below, but it feels cold today.  Cold and wet: perfect weather for this Canadian Thanksgiving long weekend.  Gobble gobble; it’s turkey time.  Mmmhmmmm.  Turkey, mashed potatoes, gravy, stuffing, cran sauce, and pumpkin pie: I feel a nap coming on just thinking about it.Image result for Turkey

Thanksgiving for me also means birthdays.  With the exception of my brothers and the next generation, my whole family has birthdays in October, myself included.  We’ve got my ma’s on the 5th, my sisters husband on the 12th, mine and my step-dad’s on the 14th, my sister’s on the 17th, and my late grandmother’s on the 22nd.  Counting backwards nine/ten months shows me that the reproducers where having themself one heck of a Happy New Years.

I was born on Thanksgiving day.  My birthday has landed on this great holiday four times over my lifespan.  I was born — people were giving thanks.  You’re welcome.  Kidding aside, I’m pretty honoured to share my birthday with this holiday.  A time to give thanks for all our blessings.

Image result for funny birthday cards
I believe it!

“A Day of General Thanksgiving to Almighty God for the bountiful harvest with which Canada has been blessed – to be observed on the 2nd Monday in October.”[2] (Wikipedia)

Thanksgiving is mainly a North American holiday; however, countries around the world celebrate similar holidays  with differing names.  In CanImage result for North Americaada, the first Thanksgiving was held in 1578.  Arthur Fobisher, a British explorer, prepared a meal for his crew who almost didn’t make it to the Canadian shores.  The U.S. celebrates a similar Thanksgiving holiday (turkey and pie), but on a different date — I believe the 4th Thursday of November.  The first Thanksgiving day in the U.S. was in 1621 when the Pilgrims and Wampanoags sat down to share a meal.  The holiday in both countries has been through many transformations since it’s beginning, but the observation remained the same: A day to give thanks.

 

In honour of the upcoming holiday, I’d like to dedicate this post to all that I have to be thankful for:

  • Physical health
  • Family and friends
  • A job that puts food on the table and a roof over my head
  • My dog
  • My blog family
  • ROCK AND ROLL BABY
  • All other music and wine
  • The ability to work on my mental health
  • Love
  • Rainy days
  • Sunny Day
  • Any day that I am breathing….

There are so many more things in my life that I am thankful for.  I never forget this, even when I’m struggling with my moods.  My struggles are part of my life experience; they’ve helped shape me into the person I’ve become.  Today, I give thanks for my perseverance to keep going even on days I don’t feel like I can.  Life is short and precious, so regardless of life’s circumstances, I choose to be thankful.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Lovely post sweetpea. I learned a lot (not knowing anything about Thanksgiving at all) and it’s cool to find out more about you and your new year shagging family haha 😂😜 💖

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      hahah — those dirty dogs. Just read your last post. Sorry to hear about the day you had. hugs

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks darlin. I have my husband and WordPress, kids babysat and chocolate pudding in the oven. What more do I need as antidepressants 😊❤

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

