Waves of Calm

Image result for waves of calm

My body and my mind have found a wave of calm to ride this morning.  A large gentle wave came out of nowhere and swept me off my feet.  It has me craddled in it’s warmth — I feel safe and relaxed.  I’m riding the day at a slower pace than my usual turbo speed, and it feels good.

My racing thoughts have been washed out to sea; for this very moment I have peace.  Peace and quiet; sweet relief from repetitive overthinking.  If only I knew what brought on this wonderful state of mind.   Yesterday is a blur of anxiousness.  I was pre-approved for a mortgage; for some, this would be a reason to celebrate.  For me, it brought on instant fear of all the unknowns.  The “what if’s” were flying at me from every corner — attack of the G.A.D.  The uneasy feeling I fell asleep to, however, was gone when I woke this morning.  It’s like my mind forgot to get up with the rest of me.  Shhhhh… be very quiet, we don’t want to wake the beast. Be very, very QUIET.

 

QUIET

The morning’s breath; still and calm;

cold upon my cheek.

The rhythm of my beating heart;

lulls my mind to sleep.

Do not wake the thought machine;

for rest is what it needs.

Speak only with quiet whispered words;

for to give my mind some peace.

– Smartygirl41

 

© Smartygirl41 and The Road Less Traveled, 2016. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this site’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Smartygirl41 and The Road Less Traveled with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. SeekingGod2 says:

    Ohh yay! Like this post a lot! Hope the rest of the day was as serene and calm!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      Thanks 🙂 miss you on here

      Liked by 1 person

      1. SeekingGod2 says:

        You always know how to get a hold of me

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

