Date Night or Fright Night

Image result for scary dates

It has occured to me that my romance skills might be a little out of date and practice.  It has, in fact, been over 3.5 years since I was in a romantic relationship, so it’s safe to say, I’ve likely lost the touch: not that I had much of one to begin with.

Dating is a skill, and it take great practice and flirting abilities.  I can flirt; I can actually be quite the little hussy when I want to be, but only with “safe” men.  Safe, unattainable, already taken men.  Men that enjoy the attention, but who are already taken, so the flirting is only a game — just for fun.  When it comes to single, attractive, and desirable men, my flirting abilities take a gigantic nose dive into a big pile of SH*T.  It’s very possible I’m allergic to eligible men.  Instead of a rash, I break into bad jokes and inappropriate comments.

Now if I meet a man that I’m unsure of, I tend to do ok.  For some reason, I seem to be able to charm the pants off men when I have little to no interest in them.  A perfect example of this happend just this past weekend.  I decided to accept a date with a guy I had been chatting with on Tinder.  We met at a local pub to have a drink, and then I invited him over to watch a movie.  I don’t typically invite strangers over, but he seems pretty harmless, so I took a chance.  I made a point of clarifying my intentions.  It was a movie invite, and by movie invite I did not mean sex.  Some guys get confused, and it’s important to ensure their understanding before moving forward.  He seems to understand:  Movie – yes, Sex – no.  I made him repeat this a few times just to make sure he had it.  He really did seem to be getting it, so we asked for the bill and prepared to leave.   As we got up from our table, I realized he was short.  Really short, like a good 2 inches shorter than me, and I am only 5’4.  I have a preference for taller guys, but I didn’t want to be superficial, so I shrugged it off, and away we went.

We purchased a bottle of wine at the beer store and headed back to my place to watch Conjuring 2.  I sat on the opposite side of the couch from him, so that he understood the terms of the movie watching date.  However, when I got up to go get us another glass of wine, his hand went straight for my “area.”  WTF.  It wasn’t like we were making out, and he thought he test the waters.  No, he just reach out and grabbed her like she was some sort of squeeze toy.  I politely said, “please don’t do that.”  He laughed, but then apologized when he saw that I was serious.  This did not discourage him, however. He slowly inched his way next to me on the couch and I spent the rest of the movie swatting his hand away from my T&A&V.  Needless to say, I was completely turned off, and I asked him to leave.  I thought I made my point, but the next day he sent me a text to tell me how much fun he had.  SERIOUSLY.  I’ve since blocked him.  This was frustrating, but I look at it like this: with each one I don’t want, I only get closer to the one I do.

 

 

 

 

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Sorry you had to deal with this, love the tag though “short guys” 🙂

    Like

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      haha, well I really don’t have an issue with short guys; however, I’ve now had 2 bad experiences with men under 5’5. It might be a thing.

      Like

      1. It is a thing and has a name “short man complex” 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Smartygirl41 says:

        Good to know for future.

        Like

      3. Date tall guys with sisters

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Smartygirl41 says:

        I will put that on my dating profile

        Like

  2. Clearly some assholes still don’t get that no really does mean no. Sheesh…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

