Happiness is the Goal – Fun Maker Part 2

With over 100 blog posts, I often forget why I started posting in the first place.  My posts have taken many turns in the road, and at times, I have to reprogram my writing’s GPS with new coordinates.  I’ve taken my blog on a journey with no destination, and I’m quite suprised by some of the stops we’ve made.

The wind has blown again, and I’ve had to adjust my sails to keep on sailing.  Yesterday, I took action and set a goal for happiness.  If you read my last post, you already know about my Fun Maker Project.  It’s not that I’m unhappy, but recently I have struggled, and it’s important that I take action to keep myself from slipping down into darkness.  Hence, my new project.

I wasn’t completely sure how this fun project would work; I set a few rules and so far, I have followed them.  Last evening, my new fun event was going to the river to cool off.  To my suprise, this little exercise made a big impact.  A 20 minute detour from my usual nightly habits was just what the doctor ordered.  Was it fun?  Well hard to say, I didn’t feel excitement, but it was different and somewhat enjoyable.

It’s difficult for me to feel excitement.  Did medication dull my excitment levels, or is it a result of getting older?  Too soon to know, as it will take some time for my body to readjust to being med free.  This is another reason I decided to start the fun maker project.  I want to see if I can get my excitment juices flowing again.  So, now I need to come up with a fun event for today.  I’ve been tossing around idea’s all afternoon, and it’s just come to me.

FUN EVENT PROJECT DAY 2

Make my own granola using 2 items I have never tried before.

Instructions: After my work out, go to the grocery store.   Scan the bulk food section and pick 1 items that will work in granola that I have never tried before.  The second item will be coconut oil (never used this before)  Stop at river again and dunk myself – go home, shower, put on some music, and bake granola.

Starting granola recipe:

  • Rolled oats
  • Honey
  • Vanilla extract
  • Coconut oil (new item)
  • Cinnamon
  • 1 new bulk item

Bake for 10 mins in a 300 degree oven. — Serve with plain greek yogurt for breakfast.  YUM.

Domestic chore:  fun?  Tune in later for my review.

 

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. you are doing so well. I too am trying to have more fun and joy in life. yet it seems I am too lazy to change my routine 🙂 but like yourself, I became interested in baking lately, which I find is challenging and awarding at the same time. I always found nourishing myself with good and healthy enjoyable. I am sure your granola bar was jut the right one today 🙂

    Like

  2. good and healthy “food” (forgotten that above 🙂 )

    Like

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      It is hard to change routines. I get so stuck in my way, and with no partner in life, I find I don’t do much in the way of fun. I’m looking forward to some relaxing time getting my hands all sticky 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. this a great alternative 🙂 enjoy!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. SeekingGod2 says:

    So a combo of fun event 1 AND 2. You might have to keep this theme up. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      I was thinking the same thing. Although, I don’t know that I will need that much oatmeal lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

