Flirting 101

Something terrible has happened to me.  I don’t know when, how or why, but the unthinkable, most unimaginable, tragedy has transpired.  I don’t even know if I should write this out loud, but here goes:  I’ve lost my ability to flirt.  There I said it; it’s out in the open… I can breathe a sign of defeat.

All I can think right now is, WHY ME?  Me, the girl who could turn on the charm at the drop of a dime, has lost her mojo.  I blame it on age.  I watch other girls successfully flirt their way into some really great guys affection, but I just don’t have it anymore.  The batting of the eyelashes and coy smiles — seriously, I just can’t.  I know; guys like that kind of thing, but I don’t have it in me.  Besides, it’s not that cute coming from a 40 something white girl.

I have no problem letting a guy know I think he’s sexy; I be like “how you doing sexy thing?” Of course, I only do that with guys I know, who are already taken and know I’m only playing.  Out in the real world with real single men, I’m a lost cause.   I am doomed to a life of singleness because I can’t bring myself to turn it on.  Even if I wanted to, I doubt I could pull it off without looking like a fish out of water.  I’d probably get an eyelash in my eye, trip over my own feet and break a tooth.  It’s dangerous out here in the dating world.

If I break it right down, I think my biggest issue is I find dating too much work.  It’s exhausting, and I’m not sure the effort is worth the reward.  All I want is a tall, dark, handsome man, to walk up to me and say, “Let’s skip the crap and get it on.” Of course, I want dinner first.  A girls gotta eat.

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Imani tm says:

    Imani tm invites you to view 21gram.soul.blog, now I’ve gone private 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

