I’ve Gone Full Happy 

  

I’m just a really really happy girl. This maybe a left over phase stemming from a nine day at-home vacation, but I don’t think that’s it.  I believe my solid inner joy is the aftermath of a 10 year stint of anxiety meds. I made it– 3 weeks prescribed drug free.  I’ve not only made it through brain zaps and nausea, I’ve also endured and surpassed the lows and anxiety of discontinuation. I’m free from the grips of societies idea of who I should be. 

For those of you currently on Medication to stabilize your mental health, please don’t think I am saying they aren’t needed.  They can be, and for me, at one point in life, they were a life or death decision.  However, they outstayed there welcome, and I had no choice but to evict their ass to the curb.

In the three weeks since I stopped taking my meds, I have smiled and laughed more than I did over the last 10 years of my life.  Me and my guitar fell back in love, I reunited with my old forgotten friend joy, and I said my final farewell to a dead relationship with self-hatred.  

Soooo, hello world, my name is Kim; I’m happy to see you again after all this time. My how you have changed (or is that me?).  It doesn’t really matter who’s who or what’s what as long as we’re free. 

Bye bye sadness, welcome back me.  

5 thoughts on “I’ve Gone Full Happy 

  1. Kim. This is just wonderful to hear! 😃 I am still feeling pants, but down to one half tablet now. This gives me hope 😊💝😉 You deserve this time, this is your time to shine 👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

