Lovely People

 

sea, beach, holiday

We all know there is ugliness in this world.  You see it on T.V.; hear it on the radio, and witness it in the Costco check out lines.  Really people, you will not get through the line any faster by jamming your cart into the back of my knees.  Ugliness is a part of life, and it’s all around us.  However, I choose to not focus on the ugly; instead, I take note of all the lovelies.

If you look close enough, you will see there are more lovely people around than ugly — they just don’t get as much recognition.  I notice though.  I notice when someone makes eye contact and smiles back at me when we pass on the street.  I notice all the door holders, seat givers, and genuine helpers of the world.  People are lovely, and I see this every day.

I haven’t been feeling too well this week, and everyday I come to work, my co-workers ask me how I’m doing.  They want to know if there’s anything they can do to make my life easier, and it touches my heart.  Friends and family members text or call to check in with me, which means the world.  Fellow bloggers, strangers beyond this world, send words of encouragement.  Lovely people are everywhere.

If you spend too much time noticing the ugly, soon all you will see is the shit of the world.  Turn your attention to the everyday goodness, and your world becomes beautiful.

10 Comments Add yours

  1. Finding and focusing on the good is a rare talent. We’re all trained to focus on shit in life. Ask any celebrity how they’re lives are profiled by the public, 95+ % highlights their failures.

    I admire you.

    Like

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      I think it’s kind of gross how people are so attracted to celebrities personal lives (good or bad). I suppose it makes people feel better about their own faults when they focus on others. Thank you for the compliment btw 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. SeekingGod2 says:

    Aww shucks. Stop it. You’re welcome! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m trying to focus on the good around me each day and tune out all the overwhelming things going on in the world. Easier said than done, but gets a bit easier each day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      Yes it can be hard when it’s every where. I’m glad it’s getting easier for you. Thanks for commentong

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for posting this entry!

    We are often so surrounded my negativity that we forget to see the good this world has to offer. For instance, just walking through the forest on a hot summers day can make such a huge difference to my mood!

    Do you receive any happiness from the tranquil scenes of nature or is it more to do with the actions of other people? 🙂

    Like

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      Oh I find happiness everywhere: the wind, sun, running, my puppy, a soft warm bed. I’m a very happy person and I don’t even have much on the way of materials. My anxiety disorder taught me to seek out true happiness. Thx so much for commenting

      Like

      1. That’s an interesting perception on anxiety. Perhaps it really can teach you how to live a happier life in the end. Food for thought there. Thanks for answering my question! 🙂

        Like

      2. Smartygirl41 says:

        It definitely took me many many years to learn how to manage my anxiety and to find true happiness. It’s worth the effort for sure.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

