The Daily Grind — Facebook Style

Time has been on my mind lately.  More specifically, the passing of time.  This is undoubtably part of getting older.  Time becomes more precious when you realize that half your life is already over.  Regrettably, I find myself becoming more and more worried about wasting time.

One of the guys from work would answer to that “Well Kim, you’re anxious about everything… haha.” Smart ass.  Ok, so yes I worry about a lot of things, that goes with the territory of having an anxiety disorder.  However, I don’t think it’s terribly unusual for a person to be concerned about wasting his or her life away.   But how do you know if your wasting time?

My life is simple: I’m a single, middle aged, working woman.  I have no children, a few great friends, and family near by.  I’d love to say that I’m adventurous, and that I travel any chance I can, but I’m not, and I don’t.  Not to say, I won’t try something adventurous from time to time, but I certainly don’t seek it out.  I could travel, but it would be alone, and that just doesn’t appeal to me.  The excitement of travelling for me is the sharing of the experience.

Here’s another question: “Would I feel I was wasting time if social media had never been invented?”  If I didn’t see everyone else doing, what looks like, so much more than me?  Friends are getting engaged, having babies (or grandbabies), going on extravegant vacations, attending non-stop parties, buying new houses, the list just goes on and on.  If you look at my Facebook page you will find:

  • Picture of my dog
  • Reposts of cute or funny video’s
  • Maybe a self or two of me playing guitar
  • A comment about my broken car
  • A comment about being stressed about an upcoming test

Not exactly jaw dropping updates.  My life is just my life.  When I take a vacation from work, I usually stay home.  I love having a week to sleep in, read a book, wander aimlessly downtown and go for coffee.  I want to rest on my vacation, not stress about travel plans.  OK, I won’t mind going away sometime soon, but if it doesn’t happen, I’m not going to be shattered.  Social media makes me feel like a boring person, and it makes me feel alone.

As a single woman, I do spend a lot of time alone.  This is just the way it is when you are a bit older and on the market.  I’ve become pretty accustom to doing things by myself, and I don’t give it a second thought until I browse Facebook.   Facebook makes all that I accomplish seem insignificant and dull.

STOP — OK, so the other morning, this was how I was feeling after spending only 4 minutes scrolling my Facebook feed page.  People smiling, bragging, making life seem sickenly perfect.  PLEASE, as if.  This had me thinking: Why don’t I start posting “My Daily Grind” comments.  Maybe something like “Read the paper this morning, it was midly entertaining.”  “Stopped at the grocery store on my way home from work, bought some apples.”  “Noticed I need to fix one of my front steps, so I will probably tackle that this weekend.”

Being the “weird” girl I am, I’ve decided to do just that.  Everyday, at some random time, I will post “My Daily Grind” comment.  I will share what my life is actually like.  I will not embellish or inflat my life in any way.  LOL — I wonder how many Facebook friends I can lose in 10 days.

 

 

 

 

 

16 Comments Add yours

  1. 6ftsarah says:

    I love this idea x Everyone’s lives are equally as dull or exciting at points, its tiresome ‘keeping up with the Jones’s’

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      Exactly how I feel!

      Like

    2. Smartygirl41 says:

      How have you been feeling Sarah? I was thinking of you today?

      Like

  2. Queen Bee says:

    Lol! I’d be interested how people take to that style of Facebook posting! I hate Facebook, it robs happiness and gives a very one sided view of life. You live on planet normal as far as I’m concerned! 😆

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      Haha, thanks Queen Bee. I will have to do a follow up post with the results of my mundane facebook posts 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Queen Bee says:

        Defo! It’s be a hilarious social experiment, and you never know, it might catch on and you could be responsible for a whole new trend and way of Facebooking 😉 I would LOVE to see that happen lol 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. shandra2015 says:

    Maybe just leave facebook…I did it and it has been glorious 🙂 Try it for a week and see whatcha think 😊

    Like

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      I’ve been thinking of deleting my account for awhile. I might just go for it:)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. shandra2015 says:

        Unfortunately you can not ever delete it, only deactivate it… 😑

        Like

      2. Smartygirl41 says:

        What? That’s crazy–damn social media

        Liked by 1 person

  4. SeekingGod2 says:

    I hate Facebook for that precise reason. But it’s the only way my family can keep up with my kids. I did get off it for 40 days earlier this year. Very liberating!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      Ya I suppose if you have kids it’s a good way to keep the fam updated. I do try to keep everyone informed of my dogs shenanigans 😂. 40 days is admirable: I’ve stopped posting and now only browse the page when I’m desperately bored. Single at 41 can have its dull moments.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. SeekingGod2 says:

        Hah! Well let me know how to find ya. Maybe I’ll be bored some day!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. SeekingGod2 says:

        I meant on Facebook

        Like

      3. Smartygirl41 says:

        Haha right. Damn social media. Try Kim Knox. Canada look for a guitar

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

