Dear Rejection

Dear Rejection,

It was very nice seeing you this weekend, and I hope you enjoyed your stay.  I hope you don’t mind my bluntness when I say “you scare me.”

Please don’t take that the wrong way, as I know you mean well.  However, whenever there’s a chance of seeing you, I second guess myself.  Even though we have known each other for years, your presence still unnerves me.  When you are here, I question my self-worth, and I wish I had never tried or reached out at all.

I know we are close, as you have played a big role in both my personal and professional life.  How many times have you been there when I’ve applied for a new job, gone on a blind date, or shared a new blog post?  I’ve lost count, but I know it’s been a lot.  For all the times you’ve been there for me, I feel I haven’t given you the credit you deserve.

Yes, you scare me, but you also make me strong.  It’s because of you that I try harder and push myself.  It’s because of you that I have learned who I am, and what I want in life.  I have you to thank for redirecting me when I’ve gone off course, as you are better at directions than I.

I’m sorry for the times I have blamed you for my own self-abuse.  It is not you critisizing me when I don’t get a job, or when a partner leaves me; I do that to myself.  All you were doing was closing a door behind me to prepared me for the door ahead.  So thank you.  Thank you for steering me in the right direction, even when it doesn’t feel like it.  I’d like to say that I won’t be afraid of our next visit, but that would be a lie.  However, you are always welcome because I realize you only have my best interest at heart.

Warmest Regards

K.K.

“You can be the ripest, juiciest peach in the world, and there’s still going to be somebody who hates peaches.”   – Dita Von Teese

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lively Life says:

    love the view as rejection as a person. also the dita quote at the bottom!

    Like

    1. Smartygirl41 says:

      Haha, thank you for your comment. 🙂 I was coming to terms with a recent dating rejection, and it helped to put a face to it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

