Office Snacks

snacksAbout once a month, a girl from our office makes a trip to costco and stocks up on office snacks.  She is a lovely lady, but she goes a little overboard on the snacking items.  She buys over $1000 worth of snacks a month, and then she hoards them in her office.   In her tiny 8 x 8 office she cramps $1000 worth of chips, chocolate covered almonds, granola bars, cookies, nuts, dried mangos, hard candies, soft candies, hot chocolate, chocolate caramel pretezel bark, noodle cups, and suckers.  It’s a dieter’s worst nightmare.  I’m not a dieter, but I am careful about what I eat.

You know it’s her shopping day when she pops by everyone’s office and asks “Would you like me to pick up anything special while I’m at Costco?”  When she gets to my door, I always say “No thank you.”  In saying this, I kid myself into believing I won’t be tempted to grab something when I’m in the middle of a stressful project, or when my carrot sticks are just not cutting it.

I’m the type of person who needs food structure; otherwise, I will eat a whole bag of chocolate covered almonds in one sitting.  I don’t mean to; it starts off with just a couple of almonds.  A couple won’t hurt, but once the sweet taste of chocolate hits my tongue, I’m doomed.  If I don’t go into her office I’m fine, but we are co-workers and sometimes I need to go to her office.  The stack of sweets sitting in the corner of her office stick out like a sore thumb.  You can’t miss the jumbo size bag of gummy bears — I think I’ve actually heard the pint sized bears call out my name.

Her shopping day was yesterday, and I was so good.  Not once did I go to her office to check out the new stash.  YEAH me, I made it through the work day on salad, chicken and an orange.  It’s hard to eat healthy when your putting in two hours of strenous cardio a day.  Last night I did an hour steady-state run followed by a 40 minute spin (bike).  Tonight is two hours on the bike and weights.  This morning, I ate my oatmeal and egg whites, chicken and quinoa for lunch, and an apple for a snack.  I also consumed a handful of chocolate covered almonds and a good serving of dried mango 😦  WHY!  This would not have happened if I had stayed away from the office of temptation.  Damn you willpower — where are you when I really need you?  You come and go from my life like a careless lover.

I purposely keep this kind of food out of my house.  My house is stocked with lean proteins, veggies, and healthy grains.  I can go a whole weekend without one little slip up, and then Monday comes around again.  Another week to test my discipline.  Unfortunately, my discipline has a mind of it’s own.  If only I could find a full proof plan to keep my sneaky little fingers out of the cookie jar — literally.  My little indulgence today is going to cost me an extra 30 minutes on the damn bike.  I’m pretty sure I can feel my butt growing as I sit here and type.

A little advice to all the well-meaning snack buyers in the world: please stop; stop now.  It’s hard enough for some of us to get through our clean eating day without having a constant reminder of all the things we’d rather be eating.  Please, for the love of God, think of us weak food sinners and lead us not into temptation.

The time has come for this girl to tie up her big girl laces and work off her sins.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Office Snacks

Leave a Reply

